USAT Duathlon National Championship Results 2015

Posted by

June 6, 2015 – Amateur duathletes Matthew Payne and Kevin O’Connor earned overall standard and sprint-distance titles, respectively, while Kirsten Sass raced her way to overall wins in both distances at the 2015 USA Triathlon Duathlon National Championships, held Saturday at Harriet Island Regional Park. Patrick Parish and Ruth Brennan Morrey clinched overall wins in the elite field.

kirsten sass

Kirsten Sass bested the women’s field in both the standard- and sprint-distance championship events.

Payne (Minneapolis, Minn.) clocked in at 1 hour, 24 minutes, 10 seconds on the 5-kilometer run, 34.5-kilometer bike, 5-kilometer run to claim the overall victory as well as the male 35-39 age-group title. Bennett Isabella (Burnsville, Minn.) was second overall, clocking in at 1:25:58 and taking the 30-34 national title, and Nathan Hoffman (South Haven, Minn.) raced to third overall in 1:26:07.

“The competition was awesome. We’re as strong here as anywhere. Even with just the local guys it’s going to be a tough race. And when you get the guys coming from all over the place, it’s even better,” said Payne, who defended his overall title from 2014. “This course sets up very well for me. It bikes longer than the distance would indicate because of the hills, and my strength is the bike, so that really helps me out.”

Sass (McKenzie, Tenn.) did the double and bested the women’s field in both the standard- and sprint-distance championship events, finishing in 1:32:04 and 59:45.

“It was just amazing. It was tough, but I’ve been doing a lot of bike racing and training. It’s a strong group of women out there, so I’m honored to be here,” Sass said.

Parish (Minneapolis, Minn.) led the elite wave, finishing in 1:26:06, and Brennan Morrey (Rochester, Minn.) led the elite women, finishing in 1:33:06 with more than a two-minute lead.

 “It was the most enjoyable race I’ve done in a few years. Even though there was a small elite field, it was such an enjoyable day. Beautiful course. Beautiful weather. I knew that I had to get a gap on the second and third women from the start and just gave it all I could,” Brennan Morrey said.

In the sprint-distance Duathlon National Championships, Kevin O’Connor (Medina, Minn.) finished the 2.5k run, 23k bike, 2.5k run in 54:10, also claiming the 40-44 age group win. Mario Czarnomski (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) finished 18 seconds behind in 54:28, taking second-place overall and first for men 30-34. Joe Johnson (Eagan, Minn.) rounded out the podium in 54:31.

Sass increased her lead during the bike leg of the sprint race, and Celia Dubey (Tarpon Springs, Fla.) and Patty Peoples-Resh (Redlands, Calif.) put up a fight for overall podium finishes, clocking in times of 1:02:19 and 1:02:41.

Thomas Giannettino (PT4, Auburn, N.Y.) raced his way to the paraduathlon national title in his first duathlon.

“It was a great experience, and a beautiful venue. That one steady climb out of the start was really rough, but there was enough downhill to compensate for it,” Giannettino said.

St. Paul hosted Duathlon Nationals for the second year, welcoming a field of nearly 500 athletes. The event heads west in 2016 to Bend, Oregon.

Duathlon Nationals competitors qualified for the age-group 2016 Standard and Sprint ITU Duathlon World Championships. In the standard National Championship race, the top 18 finishers in each age-group, rolling down to 25th place, qualified for Team USA. In the sprint race, at least the top eight finishers qualified per age group. Additional spots may be available depending on the location of 2016 ITU Duathlon Worlds, which will determine whether a non-drafting sprint-distance race will be offered in addition to the draft-legal sprint. More information on the Sprint Duathlon Worlds qualification process is available at

Team USA is comprised of the nation’s top multisport athletes who represent the U.S. at each ITU World Championships event. Visit for more on Team USA.


2015 USA Triathlon Duathlon National Championships
Click here for complete results


Standard-Distance National Champions
5k run, 34.5k bike, 5k run

Female Overall: Ruth Brennan Morrey (Rochester, Minn.), 1:33:06

Male Overall: Patrick Parish (Minneapolis, Minn.), 1:26:06

Age-Group National Champions

Female Overall: Kirsten Sass (McKenzie, Tenn.), 1:32:05

Male Overall: Matthew Payne (Columbia Heights, Minn.), 1:24:11

Female Masters: Kirsten Chapman (Edmond, Okla.), 1:41:55

Male Masters: Dave Slavinski (Point Pleasant, N.J.), 1:26:36

Female Grand Masters: Bridget Dawson (San Luis Obispo, Calif.), 1:45:13

Male Grand Masters: David Burkhart (Brighton, Mich.), 1:37:40

M17-19: Nick Amato (Suttons Bay, Mich.), 1:35:37

F20-24: Corinne Fitzgerald (New York, N.Y.), 1:42:10

M20-24: Daniel Pearson (Brookfield, Wis.), 1:29:12

F25-29: Katie Lenglet (Shoreview, Minn.) 1:51:13

M25-29: Brian Sames (Chaska, Minn.), 1:28:52

F30-34: Jennifer Scudiero (Eagan, Minn.), 1:41:26

M30-34: Bennett Isabella (Burnsville, Minn.), 1:25:58

F35-39: Kirsten Sass (McKenzie, Tenn.), 1:32:04

M35-39: Matthew Payne (Columbia Heights, Minn.), 1:24:10

F40-44: Manuela Knispel (Shorewood, Minn.), 1:43:37

M40-44: Dave Slavinski (Point Pleasant, N.J.), 1:26:35

F45-49: Vanessa Cook (East Lansing, Mich.), 1:46:23

M45-49: Dan Chapman (Edmond, Okla.), 1:31:22

F50-54: Kirsten Chapman (Edmond, Okla.), 1:41:54

M50-54: Fred Bunn (East Grand Rapids, Mich.), 1:33:03

F55-59: Bridget Dawson (San Luis Obispo, Calif.), 1:45:12

M55-59: James Hannon (Rochester, Minn.), 1:33:10

F60-64: Patricia Driscoll (Stowe, Vt.), 1:58:16

M60-64: David Burkhart (Brighton, Mich.), 1:37:39

F65-69: Vicki McCloskey (Henniker, N.H.), 2:07:06

M65-69: Jean-Pierre Bacle (Alexandria, Va.), 1:44:03

M70-74: Wolf Hillesheim (El Sobrante, Calif.), 1:56:29

M75-79: Kenneth Fleischhacker (Littleton, Colo.), 2:13:53


Sprint-Distance National Champions

2.5k run, 23k bike, 2.5k run

Female Overall: Kirsten Sass (McKenzie, Tenn.), 59:45
Male Overall: Kevin O’Connor (Medina, Minn.), 54:10
Female Masters: Celia Dubey (Tarpon Springs, Fla.), 1:02:19

Male Masters: Kevin O’Connor (Medina, Minn.), 54:10

Female Grand Masters: Patty Peoples-Resh (Redlands, Calif.), 1:02:41

Male Grand Masters: David Morrow (Tarpon Springs, Fla.), 1:00:30

F15-19: Rebecca Naughton (Des Moines, Iowa), 1:05:40

M15-19: Timothy Winslow (Elk Grove, Calif.), 55:39

F20-24: Ashley Heinlein (Stillwater, Minn.), 1:19:34

M20-24: Keith Jackson (McDonough, Ga.), 54:32

F25-29: Lindsey Torgerson (Laredo, Texas), 1:07:15

M25-29: William Geib (Wilmington, Del.), 56:40

F30-34: Jennifer Scudiero (Eagan, Minn.), 1:04:05

M30-34: Mario Czarnomski (Cedar Rapids, Iowa), 54:27

F35-39: Kirsten Sass (McKenzie, Tenn.), 59:44

M35-39: Joe Johnson (Eagan, Minn.), 54:30

F40-44: Celia Dubey (Tarpon Springs, Fla.), 1:02:18

M40-44: Kevin O’Connor (Medina, Minn.), 54:09

F45-49: Christine Quantz (Soap Lake, Wash.), 1:06:30

M45-49: Glen Thompson (Davidson, N.C.), 56:08

F50-54: Geraldine Lupini (Milford, Mich.), 1:05:00

M50-54: Derek Hager (Minneapolis, Minn.), 57:07

F55-59: Patty Peoples-Resh (Redlands, Calif.), 1:02:40

M55-59: Kerry Farrell (Federal Way, Wash.), 57:08

F60-64: Diane Travis (Clermont, Fla.), 1:12:21

M60-64: David Morrow (Tarpon Springs, Fla.), 1:00:29

F65-69: Rosalind Jarrett Sepulveda (Los Angeles, Calif.), 1:40:17

M65-69: Mike McDowell (Swartz Creek, Mich.), 1:05:53

F70-74: Heysoon Lee (Morristown, N.J.), 1:31:09

M70-74: Mike McCarty (Marana, Ariz.), 1:10:34

F75-79: Graciela Val (Evanston, Ill.), 1:40:16

M75-79: Donald Ardell (St. Petersburg, Fla.), 1:19:51

M85-89: Edward Maruna (Arvada, Colo.), 2:09:03


Paraduathlon National Champion

Thomas Giannettino (Auburn, N.Y.), 1:09:35


Source> USA Triathlon

Comments are closed.

Website Apps